Big things with little cars

For my second LaLeMans 2018 post, we have the first and last Bentleys to win around the Circuit de la Sarthe.

The Bentley 3 Litre Sport won the second ever 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1924, driven by John Duff and Frank Clement. They covered 2,077.34 km, which was actually less than the first race the year prior.


The Bentley Speed 8 won the 2003 24 Hours of Le Mans in the third year of a three year commitment when the parent company (VW) went all in by loaning the factory Audi drivers of Tom Kristensen (Mr. Le Mans) and Rinaldo Capello due to no official Audi factory team being entered. They teamed up with Brit Guy Smith as they went 5,146.05 km around the French countryside.

In my opinion, the Bentley Speed 8 is the best looking car to win Le Mans in the 21st century. As such, there’s a few extra photos of it.


Share This Story

Get our newsletter