Big things with little cars
Big things with little cars
This is a platform for User Generated Content. G/O Media assumes no liability for content posted by Kinja users to this platform.

The Live and Let Die-Cast Customs Review - 10/8 - 10/15/2014

Illustration for article titled The Live and Let Die-Cast Customs Review - 10/8 - 10/15/2014

Finally! Ready to get your customs fix? Ready to be inspired by your fellow LaLDiecasters? Ready for the triumphant return of the venerable Carnage717? Good!

Advertisement

Let's start with a few items of inspiration. Edu-petrolhead recently won an auction for this lovely clean white VW van that will be turned into a Delirium Tremens van, and presented an open call for suggestions on the livery (at least that's how I took it!). Some good ideas were presented, and some good discussion on techniques was had. I can't wait to see how it turns out.

Advertisement
Illustration for article titled The Live and Let Die-Cast Customs Review - 10/8 - 10/15/2014

More inspiration and ideas were offered by EL_ULY, with the brilliant idea to mostertruckerize an otherwise plain jane PT Cruiser. I support the mission whole-heartedly! Put any ideas you have in the comments! Let's make this happen.

Advertisement
Illustration for article titled The Live and Let Die-Cast Customs Review - 10/8 - 10/15/2014
Advertisement

On to the completed customs!

As I mentioned above, Carnage717 is back! Hopefully the school rush has died down sufficiently to work on some customs, because this Screamliner-based Cruella De Vil is super cool!

Advertisement

Welcome back, buddy!

Illustration for article titled The Live and Let Die-Cast Customs Review - 10/8 - 10/15/2014
Advertisement

I finally finished up another custom as well, after refilling my printer's ink enough to print some decals, resulting in a Singer-inspired Porsche 993 Targa. I have to admit that I'm pretty proud of this little guy and will definitely be making more in the future.

Advertisement
Illustration for article titled The Live and Let Die-Cast Customs Review - 10/8 - 10/15/2014

Mycarneverruns87 did another '64 Nova wagon, this time in brilliant white. These look like really fun castings to work on, and the white paint works excellently. Just look at that face!

Advertisement
Illustration for article titled The Live and Let Die-Cast Customs Review - 10/8 - 10/15/2014
Advertisement

Thanks to BabyFrosted's sharpie skillz, we now have a Honda Odyssey pullback on WRX wheels, so thank you from all of us! Much improved on the Odyssey. They should put WRX wheels on all of them in real life as well, I think!

Advertisement
Illustration for article titled The Live and Let Die-Cast Customs Review - 10/8 - 10/15/2014

Great LaLD October Customs Exposition Update Alert!!!

Check out the beginnings of MCNR87's Halloween-themed Bone Shaker-based custom! I can't wait to see the finished product. MCNR87 is turning into a master of body mods.

Advertisement
Illustration for article titled The Live and Let Die-Cast Customs Review - 10/8 - 10/15/2014
Advertisement

Found on Facebook

In this new feature that will appear as needed, I will highlight a few customs that did not make it onto LaLD, but that are part of our extended LaLD Facebook family. Featured first is a car by Chase Szuta, related to the famous Tony Szuta, AKA Diecast Photography. Clearly customizing runs in the blood, because this is some stellar work. Enjoy the pictures and be sure to check out the LaLD Facebook page if you have not yet done so.

Advertisement
Illustration for article titled The Live and Let Die-Cast Customs Review - 10/8 - 10/15/2014

Thanks for tuning in and putting up with my tardiness! I promise to be back to the regularly scheduled Monday slot next week.

Advertisement

Last week!

Share This Story

Get our newsletter